Monday Weisblog: Expand your vocabulary. Use contractions properly!

I find them in “special offers” I get in the mail. I see them when I read handwritten greetings from just about everybody. Heck, I even see them in our local newspaper by people who are supposed to be seasoned pros.

I am talking about errors with contractions. They are all over the place! Every day, I see something like, “Your the best friend I have ever had,” or “The award was placed in it’s rightful place in the trophy case.”

There is an easy fix for this. Simply stop and think about what a contraction actually means. In the first example “Your” should be “You’re.” Why? Because “You’re” is a contraction meaning “You are.” You are the best friend I have ever had.

The second example is the opposite. There should not be a contraction there, because “it’s” means “it is.” The correct word here is “its.” The award was placed in its rightful place in the trophy case.

Now that the “lecture” portion of today’s Weisblog is over, how was everyone’s weekend? I was thrilled to see my Alma Mater, UCF, capture a hard-earned basketball victory over our “directionally challenged” rivals, the University of South Florida (who are located in Tampa).

See you again tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

