Monday Weisblog: Facebook is great … if you use it right and have friends

“John, you have to get a Facebook page!”

If I had a dime for every time I heard that from one of my friends.

I always gave them four reasons why I should not have my own Facebook page: (1) I don’t have time. (2) This is immature high school stuff. (3) It’s a fad that will die out like the leisure suit (and aren’t we all grateful for that). (4) Why waste my time doing this when e-mail works just as well?

In case you haven’t figured it out, I can be a bit “old school” sometimes when it comes to things like this.

Finally, I decided to see what the hype was all about. I designed my page and, as instructed, I invited people who were already my real-life friends to be my Facebook friends. This is some mixed-up logic, I thought to myself. Inviting someone who’s already a friend to be my friend is ridiculous!

Then a funny thing happened. I started to get correspondences from former coworkers and classmates I hadn’t talked to in years. Why? Because they were Facebook friends of my Facebook friends!

The logic was finally starting to make sense. Now someone else’s friend is my friend, too, even though they’ve always been my friend all along.

I liken it to an online Starbucks, or if you reached adulthood in the 80’s like me, an online “Cheers.” You know … Sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your name.

I would be remiss if I didn’t also mention the seemingly infinite number of groups you can join, some you’d deem so obscure you’d never think of them in a million years. For example, I recently joined one called “WUCF Alumni, Staff and Current Students.” It caters to former staff members of WUCF, the college radio station where I worked way back in the early 1990s while enrolled there. There are actually 11 people in that group. Who woulda thunk it!

Now, a word of caution: I am not completely comfortable with kids using Facebook, MySpace and all the other sites like them. There are so many people out there looking to do our kids harm, not to mention comments and images children simply shouldn’t be exposed to. That is up to the individual parent.

But if you’re an adult, and you want to network or catch up with old friends, Facebook’s the place. I’ll see you there online.

One response to “Monday Weisblog: Facebook is great … if you use it right and have friends

  1. I liken Facebook to crack…Many do call it facecrack…I too, was very reluctant to join the facebook world until my 13 year old nephew set up a page for me…and now I’m addicted to a game called Mob Wars and have found friends from all of the chapters of my life…My years @ the World League of American Football, Church St Station, Dollar Thrifty,family, Bishop Moore HS, UCF, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Virgin Holidays, kids that I used to coach you name it they have found me & you know what, It feels good to reconnect w/ people from the past & I even found a friend that is a fugitive..go figure..

Leave a Reply

