Friday Weisblog: Working from home really is “home work”

For most of the last five years, I’ve worked out of my home office. I don’t know how many times I’ve heard from people, “You have it made. You work from home. All you have to do is drag your butt out of bed and go to work. You don’t have to get dressed up; you don’t have to deal with the idiots at the office; yada, yada, yada.”

While I must admit that the commute can’t be beat, unless you’ve actually worked from home you don’t realize that it’s still work. It takes a great deal of self-discipline to stay in front of the computer and do your job, rather than going into the other room and watching SportsCenter or The Price is Right. (Notice I didn’t say Jerry Springer!)

Working from home can make you feel lonely, too. There are times where, as a “people person,” I’ve begun to wish I could have contact with other people; even an office idiot or two would be a welcome change from, well, solitary confinement (unless you count Morris, our 14-pound beast of a cat who does resemble the old 9-Lives advertisement mascot). When you’re all by yourself, there are no in-office birthday celebrations, no potluck holiday parties, no office pools for football games, childbirth or lotto, no nothing … there’s just you.

Unless you’ve found yourself a once-in-a-lifetime job (in which case I’d love to hear more about it), working from home is not fun and games like some surmise. In a lot of ways, it actually requires more concentration and effort than if you were in an office, because there’s no one else to assist you in doing your job, and nobody with whom you can exchange thoughts and ideas.

So before you wish you could work from home, be careful what you wish for. I’m not saying that it isn’t a good option and that there aren’t things I love about it, but there are also reasons I wish I had my own office in a thriving company. I guess it’s just human nature to want something more … something different … no matter what your current situation might be.

Have a good weekend, everyone!

One response to “Friday Weisblog: Working from home really is “home work”

  1. Andrew Schaller

    I’ve been meaning to comment on this, but have been busy with the holiday lately.

    I agree completely. It is more difficult to work at home than many people imagine. For some time I had my office in my home. I found myself more apt to be distracted from the work at home. Now that I have an office in my place of employment, I find that I am far more productive.

Leave a Reply

