Tuesday Weisblog: I resolve to …

We are hours away from 2009, and that means everyone and their brother will be making their New Year’s Resolutions in the very near future.

Are you among these people? If so, let me guess what some of yours might be. “I’m going to exercise more.”  “I am going to spend more time with my family.” “I am going to quit drinking/smoking (or both).” “I am going to spend time helping those less fortunate than me and my family.”

Whether I’ve made a correct guess or not, a New Year’s Resolution usually involves self-improvement of some sort. That’s a good start, but you have to follow it up with action … easier said than done, which is why most people fail.

What can you do to improve your odds of success?

I really like what Stephen Covey, the author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, has to say about the subject. He believes you should make only one resolution, then do everything in your power to make it happen. Here’s the kicker: You have to choose the one that will have the greatest positive impact upon your life, and you must be very serious about succeeding.

In addition to lack of commitment, there is another reason people don’t achieve their goals. They “strive” for something totally ambiguous, like, “I am going to be a better person,” or “I am going to get my finances in order.”  These are good ideas, but you gotta be more specific. You’re going to be a better person … by doing what? You’re going to improve your finances … how, exactly?

In the words of Izzy Mandelbaum on Seinfeld, “It’s go time!”

So be passionate. Be decisive. Be positive. Be motivated.  You’ll stand a much better chance of achieving your New Year’s Resolution – and you won’t have to look back and wonder why your quest for self-improvement went by the wayside before it ever got started.

One response to “Tuesday Weisblog: I resolve to …

  1. It is Go Time…Lloyd Bridges was right on Seinfeld…Nice take…

Leave a Reply

