Monday Weisblog: Leaving it all behind … for a little while

During the holidays, the family and I went on a road trip to Georgia – Jackson, GA to be precise.

Jackson is located either in or near Butts County, and the family and I got more than a small chuckle when we saw the “Butts County SWAT trucks” for obvious reasons. xmas-in-ga-0053

You remember the movie My Cousin Vinny? The convenience store from that movie, Sac-O-Suds, is just down the road from my wife’s relatives’ house where we stayed. The courthouse they used for the movie is in the nearby town of Monticello. Suffice it to say that it’s a rather “rural” area.

I’ll tell you this: Rural was exactly what I needed. First and foremost, my wife’s relatives are tremendous people. In addition, Jackson is a place where everyone is friendly and isn’t suspicious of you if you try to talk to them. There is little or no traffic. You find beautiful scenery everywhere – and even a lot of hills! The style of living is, in short, more laid-back and relaxed than what I am used to, and I love it every time I go there.

xmas-in-ga-0072

Perhaps you have a story or two from your own version of Jackson, GA; the place you go to get away from it all. If not, do your best to find a sanctuary that makes you feel invigorated and energized. Once you’ve done that, make every effort to go there as often as possible.

I hope everyone had a fantastic holiday season like we did, and let’s make 2009 one of the best years we’ve ever had!

By the way, if you’ve never seen My Cousin Vinny, do yourself a favor and rent it. One night when you need a good laugh, run to Blockbuster, grab some popcorn and get ready. It may be old (1992), but it is a timeless classic and is definitely among my favorites.

5 responses to “Monday Weisblog: Leaving it all behind … for a little while

  1. Great blog, John! My hometown is not quite as small as that but it’s close!

    Thanks for giving me the 411 on blogging! You inspired me to start my own blog in 2009. I just set it up and made one entry (nothing special…YET) on December 31, 2008. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

  2. Good for you, Chris. I’ll be sure to check it out. It’s kind of fun once you get used to doing it regularly.

  3. Looks like a charming little town. Small towns in Georgia are the BEST. You’re absolutely right… those people are the friendliest ever.
    So glad you enjoyed your getaway.
    Your sis,
    Denise

  4. Was Ralph Macchio or Marissa Tomei near by??? Great pics of the Sac o’ Suds…

  5. Nope, and neither was Fred Gwynne (a/k/a “Herman Munster”), who played the judge and sadly passed away shortly thereafter if my memory serves me right.

Leave a Reply

