Thursday Weisblog: More than a quarter-century of Weirdness

I still remember hearing his work for the first time on the radio and wondering, “What in the world is this?”

It was 1983 during summer break from high school. I was in Winter Haven, FL listening to my favorite radio station at the time, WYNF out of Tampa. Out of nowhere comes this parody of Queen’s Another One Bites the Dust called Another One Rides the Bus.

weirdal2001It was my first exposure to “Weird Al” Yankovic, perhaps the most appropriately named person on the planet not named Robin Leach. While the song was hysterical, especially because the melody was mostly, if not completely, played on the accordion – it was just, well, weird!

Certainly this one song will get played another time or two and that’ll be it, right?

Yet here we are 26 years later, and “Weird Al” Yankovic still rocks … well, sort of … you know what I mean. With 12 studio albums, two greatest hits and one compilation album (not to mention a very underrated movie called UHF), the guy has made an unbelievable living doing parodies of famous songs and making up zany tunes of his own.

Do you think “Weird Al” is funny, obnoxious, or both? What’s your favorite “Weird Al” song? I think mine might be Bedrock Anthem, but I can’t decide for sure.

I can’t wait to see what my wife has to say.

3 responses to “Thursday Weisblog: More than a quarter-century of Weirdness

  1. Let’s see, how about ” My Bologna”

  2. John,
    Seems I’ve found a kindred spirit. I have a Blogger space called “Weis Words,” and while my mom was looking for my cyberscrawlings she found this page. Good to meet you!
    As for the Weird Al song, my favorite is “Amish Paradise”.

  3. I will be sure to check out your blog, too! Amish Paradise was in the running for me … definitely in the Top Five. Anyone who shares my name has my support, so I wish you the best of luck, and as I said, I’ll check in on your blog every now and again. How do you like the blogspot blog? I’ve heard of it but never tried it. I used WordPress because a friend recommended it.

Leave a Reply

