Tuesday Weisblog: Thank you, veterans!

542295496_d8349f8ac6_mDuring holidays such as Memorial Day, as well as Veterans Day and the Fourth of July, my mind wanders to those who have served our country in the armed forces.

I hope that we never take these people for granted, despite the fact that it’s very easy to do. I think part of it is because the war we’re in is not on our own soil; I think another part of it is just plain selfishness and apathy on the part of people in our country.

Before you start lobbing insults at me, I will admit that I am just as guilty as everyone else. You are so busy dealing with family stuff and job stuff that, unless the war is right in your face or someone you know is affected by it, you don’t think of it as often as you should.

That’s why this blog is the ideal opportunity to say thank you to those who have served in one of the branches of our armed forces. People like my father, who served (and was wounded) in World War II; people like my friend Mike B., who joined the Marines out of college and was in Operation Desert Storm; and especially those who have given their lives to protect our freedom.

Whether or not you agree with the war – and I’m not here to debate that – you have to pause long enough to give credit to our soldiers, who deserve every bit of praise that they get.

May we never take them – or our freedoms – for granted, lest we take our eyes off the liberties they fought so hard for and lose them.

Leave a Reply

