Monday Weisblog: Movie history for sale

A reliable source has told me that a piece of movie history can be yours … if the price is right!

xmas in GA 007Several months ago, in one of my initial blogs, I wrote about staying in Jackson, GA at my wife’s relatives’ house. I mentioned how peaceful it was and how it was close to the area in which the movie “My Cousin Vinny” was filmed.

One of the photos I used at the time was this picture – of the Sac-O-Suds convenience store, where the crime took place in the movie, (where the two “utes” were incorrectly accused).

Well, I’ve been given word that the Sac-O-Suds – a REAL establishment – is now closed up and has a “for sale” sign on it.

I think that’s kind of sad, really. There is just something so unique about rural Georgia convenience stores.

I remember once driving past one that had unique product offerings on their sign. On one side it read, “Hot biscuits and propane,” while the other side advertised, “live bait and hot pizza.” Talk about versatility!

Then there was the one near a big dam, appropriately called “The Big Dam Store.”

And last but not least, let’s not forget “Crazy Ed’s Convenience Store” right in the heart of Jackson.

But there’s only one Sac-O-Suds, and unless someone opens it back up and returns it to its former glory, Joe Pesci and the gang will only be an afterthought in a place where one of the funniest comedies in recent memory was shot.

Leave a Reply

