Friday Weisblog: Nothing is sacred anymore

You know what’s wrong with this country? Nothing is sacred anymore. We’re too worried about being so politically correct that we’ve swung in the entire opposite direction.

What I discovered today is a perfect example. (Note: This is actually being written on Thursday evening.)

My stepson JR tells my wife and I that he is studying Native American history in school. Fine so far, right? Well, they began to study some of their legends of how the world began. I’m a little uncomfortable with that, but OK.

But what I found out next enrages me. The teacher wants the students in the class to MAKE UP THEIR OWN STORY about how the world began.

Hold on a second … aren’t we supposed to be politically correct these days, going out of our way NOT to offend anyone? I guess that’s only a one-way street.

For those of us who believe in God and the Biblical account of creation, this is highly insulting. So now we are stuck in a bit of a predicament. If we instruct JR to not do the assignment because none of us are comfortable with it, we risk JR getting a bad grade. If we instruct him to do it, he is then forced to do something he isn’t comfortable doing.

I get that it’s a “creative writing” project, but there are thousands of other topics that are just as interesting and much less controversial.

Christian families should be upset over this. Even evolutionists should be outraged if they truly believe this theory. Making light of such a serious subject is not acceptable, and the teacher will hear my opinion … like it or not.

3 responses to “Friday Weisblog: Nothing is sacred anymore

  1. If JR is not comfortable doing the assignment, or you are not comfortable, you should explain this to the teacher and ask for a different topic for him. I do caution you against giving him “A piece of your mind” because you’re not giving him a great example of the good Christian love you want to share.

    Personally this is not the sort of assignment that gets my back up. Being asked for an essay saying God a lie, or disproving the existence of God, or promoting a religion I don’t believe in, those would get my back up.

    Being asked for a fictional story doesn’t bother me. I would even look at it as a great way to share faith. Look what C.S. Lewis did in The Magicians Nephew. He showed the beginning of Narnia’s world, and it was a great new perspective.

    That being said, I don’t know the situation. There could be all sorts of other factors you haven’t mentioned that make this assignment ridiculous. I can only go off this one post, and I’m not the parent. It’s up to you what you do.

  2. You are exactly right. Confronting the teacher “with both guns blazing” would not only be ineffective, it would simply be the wrong thing to do.

    My wife and I wrote the teacher a very diplomatic letter explaining our stance and feelings. It stinks that this has happened this close to the beginning of the new school year, because I don’t want to set a precedent as being the “whiny parents” that many teacher have to deal with. However, this is something we all felt strongly enough to bring to the teacher’s attention.

    We’ll see what happens from here. I believe this is your first comment – so thanks for taking the time to read my blog and leave your opinion.

  3. As a teacher of writing, I wouldn’t have given this type of an assignment. It is way too controversial. It’s fine to ask a kid to write a fable, but not one that explains how the world began.
    Not a good idea. I will be surprised if you are the only parent who writes a letter, which I believe you have every right to do so.

Leave a Reply

